Sharpening with the High Pass Filter

I have no idea if anyone is going to find this helpful, but I love using it so why not :)

To me, images that are on the verge of being oversharpened look really gorgeous in most cases. I use it for almost all of my photos/graphics, since I think it gives it a really nice effect. Plus it’s even quicker than using Photoshop’s sharpen tool, heh. I’ve got Photoshop CS3 (Extended), so that’s what I’ll be using for this. I’m pretty sure this works with most versions of Photoshop; I used to have Photoshop 7 and it worked fine there.

Step 1:

Open up your image in Photoshop. I’m using this gorgeous photo from DeviantART.

Step 2:

Right click the layer your image is on in your layers palette, then select duplicate:

Step 3:

From the Filter menu at the top, select ‘Other’, then ‘High Pass’.

Step 4:

Set the radius to anything you think is appropriate. I set mine to 0.9 pixels.

Step 5:

Now, on your layers palette, click the drop down menu and choose either overlay, soft light, hard light, vivid light or linear light. Soft light is the most gentle with the sharpening; linear and vivid light are the harshest. I usually use overlay, since it often gives me the best results.

Comparison

Try it out :)

    • wangclang
    • June 25th, 2009

    oh yah, i rmb that ;D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

