Glazed Lemon Bread

…AKA FAIL.

I made this with my new loaf pan, hoping for an awesome new bread I can make all the time, since I love lemons and we always have them on hand. Buuuuuut…I BAKED A FAIL :(

My pan is glass, so I had to turn down the temperature a bit, but I guess I also should have baked it longer. The top is actually supposed to be brown, like the edges, but I didn’t know until after -_-. So maybe if I’d left it in there for another, 5, 10 minutes all would have been right with the world, but oh well. It also sunk a little in the centre, if you can tell, but that’s not a big deal. It doesn’t taste that bad, pretty good, actually, just a tad sour. It would’ve been better if I’d left off the glaze, though. I might still make it again, but with a LOT of changes. The recipe below is the original, along with changes that I would make next time in green. Oh, and I got the recipe from here. Btw, sorry for the kinda crappy photos, it was really cloudy today. D:

Glazed Lemon Bread (Next time I’m not glazing it!)
Makes: 1 9×5 loaf
Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • zest of 1 lemon (I like lemon zest since it smells fresh and lemony without being sour, unlike lemon juice, so I added about 1/3 of a lemon more of zest)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • Juice of 1 lemon (Next time, I’d leave this out and substitute it with milk. One lemon makes around 1/4 to 1/3c of juice, so add that amount of milk instead. I just thought it was a little sour as well as kind of weird to have the milk curdling with the lemon juice >_>)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (Heh, I forgot this again. I’d add this next time though)

Glaze: (I really don’t like the glaze; it made my bread sticky and more sour…ugh. I guess if you REALLY want to you can add it…)

  • Juice of 1 large lemon
  • 1/4 cup to 1/3 cup sugar (depending on amount of lemon juice)

Directions:

  1. Adjust oven rack to the lower middle position and heat the oven to 350 degrees F (I have a glass pan, so I turned down the temperature to 325 degrees F) . Grease the bottom and sides of a 9×5 inch loaf pan; dust with flour, tapping out the excess.
  2. Whisk the flour, salt, sugar, lemon zest and baking powder together in a large bowl.
  3. In a medium bowl, beat eggs with milk, butter, lemon juice (I’d sub in milk for the lemon juice) and vanilla. Add egg mixture to the dry ingredients and stir until just combined (Make sure not to overmix, seriously. When recipes say this I usually mix until there is still a bit of flour showing, because once you put your batter in your pan, you’ll have mixed just enough). Scrape the batter into the prepared loaf pan.
  4. Bake until the loaf is golden brown (GOLDEN BROWN!!! And that also means THE TOP!!! I wish I knew) and a tester or toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean, about 45 to 50 minutes (If you’re using a glass pan, probably 10 ish minutes longer, I would think. Just keep checking on it after 50 minutes).
  5. While the bread is baking, combine lemon juice and sugar in a small saucepan, stir over medium heat until sugar is dissolves (Ok, I really hate the glaze, so I wouldn’t do it next time).
  6. After removing the bread from the oven, use a long wooden skewer to poke numerous holes in the hot bread, piercing all the way to the bottom (blahblah ignore). Slowly drizzle hot glaze over bread and baste top several times. Allow time between bastings for glaze to soak in (blahblah ignoreeee). Let bread cool in pan on a wire rack until glaze is set, about 20 minutes, then remove from pan and let cool completely on rack (I think it’s probably best if you let it cool in the pan the whole time. Probably. I’ll try it next time).

NOW FOR FAIL PICTURES :(

I don’t know why I do this.

Sliiiiicing…wow, look at that. Crumbly bits of failbread innards :(

Then I ate the slice…tastes good, actually. Maybe it’s not so bad after all.

Okay nevermind. *cries in corner, then realizes that I have to do the dishes*

And yes, if you noticed the two lines indented on the top, that’s from when I flipped the bread onto my cooling rack. YES SHUTTUP I know I suck. I’m going to blame it on the glaze, cause that made it stick to the rack.

But hey, at least my mom likes it :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

