Green Tea Pound Cake

Really crappy photo, sorry, but I was in a rush and the sun was going down reaaaally fast so I just slapped down a slice and took photos in the worst lighting ever. D:

YUMMMM. I haven’t been posting up all I’ve been baking lately — banana bread (YUUMMARS), lemon shortbread cookies (actually I love these to death), marble bread (looks really pretty :D), fail cinnamon bread, etc., sorry. BUT LOOK HERE! A deeleeshus green tea pound cake — mom, dad, and brother approved ;D! This isn’t very sweet, even though I put in about an extra 1/4 cup of confectioner’s sugar, but that’s a plus for my parents. The green tea gives it a pretty colour (though it isn’t very apparent in mine)  and it makes it smell AMAZING. Green tea also happens to be one of the only teas I’ll drink because it’s not as bitter (the other one being what my family calls “cheap tea”, which is the kind they serve at like, Congee Wong, ahah). Other than adding more sugar, I followed this recipe as written. Oh wait, I lied. I also had to jack up the baking time WAYYY up — double, actually. Instead of 45 minutes, mine had to bake for 1 hour and 30 minutes o_o. It’s got a ton of eggs, but even with my super sensitive egg detector taste buds, I couldn’t taste even the slightest hint of egg in this. ALL THE BETTER ;D

THIS MANY EGGS. There’s one in the back that you can’t see, too.

Flour, baking powder and green tea powder. My green tea powder isn’t that green, poo.

Green Tea Pound Cake
Makes: 1 9×5 loaf
Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons matcha green tea powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened (1 cup)
  • 2 cups confectioner’s sugar (I added about 1/4 cup more)
  • 5 large eggs, separated
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan and line the bottom and sides with buttered parchment or wax paper (cut to fit).
  2. Combine the flour, green tea and baking powder and stir well to mix.
  3. Cream butter and confectioner’s sugar in a mixing bowl and beat for about 3 minutes until light. Beat in the egg yolks one at a time, beating well after each addition. Fold in the flour mixture by hand, with a rubber spatula.
  4. Pour the egg whites and salt into a clean, dry mixing bowl. Whip whites until they form soft peaks.
  5. Scrape whites from bowl into batter. Use rubber spatula to fold the egg whites into the batter, just until no streaks of white remain. Preheat oven to 325 degrees (300 if using glass pan).
  6. Scrape the batter into prepared pans and smooth the top. Bake for about 45 minutes (mine took 1 hour and 30 minutes…haha fail) or until it is well risen and a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out dry. Cake should have large cracks and should be brown. Cool cake in the pan for 10 minutes, then unmold and cool completely.

NOMNOM.

Oh yeah, and yesterday, for dinner, we had a barbecue in our backyard, and SOMEONE (either my mom or my dad) came up with the GENIUS idea of barbecuing tofu. I swear.

WTF.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

