Coconut Ice Cream

I love making ice cream.

I don’t have an ice cream maker (still), but even churning it by hand is fun and often yields great results. I had a REALLY GOOD coconut ice cream (with coconut flakes that I didn’t put in mine) while I was in Vancouver, but that place, Kitanoya Guu at Gastown, was seriously expensive. By the way, I digress, but does anyone know how to make Taiwanese shaved ice? I had a RIDDDIIICULOUSLY good mango one at Aberdeen at Richmond, but I dunno where I can find a recipe for shaved ice. I think I have a really old school ice shaver that has Mickey Mouse and Pluto and all them good old cartoons on it, but that’s meant for kids. Probably. I’M A KID TOO :( I have this other one, that’s pink and white with Hello Kitties on them, but again, I dun think that’s gonna work. OK OK BACK TO THE TOPIC

So though the prices at Guu look reasonable at first, it’s a tapas bar so the portions are tiny. We ordered about 8, but we were only about half full…and the bill was like, what, $70? Then again, my brother and my dad did order a pitcher of beer…yea. This place was hilariously loud, with waiters and waitresses YELLING at the top of their lungs orders in Japanese, which was fun. It wouldn’t sound nearly as cool in Canto though, I presume…(WEI! YUU DAN LAI MEEN AH! LOL, oh Canto. Say that out loud if you don’t get it, haha. It’s a ref to McDull, who is made of awesome, no? :D!) Anyways, it’s really good if you like that kind of thing — Japanese bar food, essentially. I didn’t like it too much since most of the food was unlike what I’ve ever had before, but the coconut ice cream we had for dessert was AMAZING.

So when I went home, I made my own :)

The original recipe called for saffron as well, but since I don’t have anything ever in my kitchen, and couldn’t be bothered to buy things that I’d only use once, I omitted it. This ice cream was really fragrant all the same, which is awesome, since I love coconut to death. Despite being super creamy, it was light and refreshing, even though there’s, well, a lot of heavy cream in there. While the green tea ice cream I made several times last year was rich and creamy, this one was more on the light side, since it doesn’t contain any eggs and has less heavy cream.

This was unbelievably difficult to photograph — honestly, frig, how do you photograph something that’s melting before you can plate, style, and set up your camera? I ended up chucking the scooped ice cream in the fridge while I was doing all of that, but you can probably see it melting progressively as you read this LOL. FML

Those two leaves, by the way, aren’t mint leaves (no really? pfft). I never have things like mint around but I wanted a tad of colour so I just went outside and plucked two random leaves and stuck it in there. Actually, the leaves wouldn’t go in at first because I’d frozen the whole scoop solid by then, so I actually took a paring knife and carved two slits where I wanted them to go. IMPROV, YES! They’re not as light as I wanted them to be, but eh.

Coconut Ice Cream

(HEAVILY adapted from David Lebovitz, who adapted it from Delicious Days)

Makes: 1L

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/3 cups (320 mL) heavy cream
  • 2 cups coconut milk (I used only 400 mL instead of 500 mL, because my cans come in 400 mL sizes and I didn’t want to open up another can for the sole purpose of using 100 mL — it was coconutty enough)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar (I did use a little more than 1/2 cup since I was worried it wouldn’t be sweet enough when I compared it to my other ice cream ratios, although it isn’t necessary to increase it. Next time, I’d keep the 1/2 cup as is)

Directions:

  1. In a saucepan, bring all ingredients to a boil.
  2. Reduce the heat and gently simmer for ten minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and chill the mixture thoroughly in fridge.
  3. Once chilled, put in freezer. As ice crystals start to form (45 minutes), remove, and mix well with a whisk, spatula, or hand mixer to vigorously break them up. Return to freezer. Continue to check the mixture every 30 minutes thereafter, beating with a hand mixer. Keep checking periodically and stirring while it freezes until the ice cream is frozen. It will likely take 2-3 hours to be ready.

Spoonful of melted awesome :)

AHH BLUE SPOON

wut

Also, I have another can of coconut milk about to expire…eheheh, I know what I’ll be making next!

  1. Hey C-Cherie…

    When you say “coconut milk,” what does that mean? The stuff in the center of the coconut? Or the drinkable stuff in cans with sugar in it? Not that “cream of coconut” from Coco Lopez, right?

    I’m just never sure if I’ve got the right can to use and I love coconut ice cream so much. Please help!

      • Cheryl Li
      • August 10th, 2010

      It usually comes in a can, but I don’t think it has added sugar in it. It’s not cream of coconut (that’s a lot thicker), but you should be able to find it near there. The brand that I usually get is “Aroy-D”, and the cans look like this: http://www.twotoucan.com/images/CoconutMilk_Aroy-D.gif

      I hope that helps!

  2. thank you. :)

  3. Sorry the styling was a bit tricky! I can kinda relate from my experience photographing popsicles, though I think those stay frozen a bit longer. Nonetheless, you did a great job and this looks so yummy I’d even take a half-melted scoop.

      • Cheryl Li
      • August 27th, 2010

      Haha, thanks! I think homemade ice creams melt more quickly or something, at least from my experience. As much as I love making my own, the fact that it melts so quickly makes it impossible to share with others – I doubt this’d last a five minute road trip under the sun! Ah well, more for me :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

