Stars – The Five Ghosts

Wow. I love you, Stars.

I haven’t blogged about music in awhile (my fault, really, hehhh), but I just had my first listen of Stars’ latest album, The Five Ghosts. It is by no means mainstream, so I don’t know if everyone’d like it, but if you have a similar taste in music you’ll love it. Actually, this isn’t even normally the kind of thing I like in particular, but it still impressed me. Most of the tracks on this album, I’d say, are not at all cheery though. This album is more on the mellow side, with a couple of AMAZING tracks, drool. I actually don’t really like their more popular but upbeat stuff, like Ageless Beauty, so this is perfect for me. Like always, their lyrics are downright amazing. I’ll stop rambling now :)

Some particularly amazing tracks (I’m pretty much picking my favourites, which are always the most mellow):

  • Dead Hearts – I’ve always loved her angelic voice, and coupled with these incredibly well written (but sad) lyrics = instant win for me. You have got to read the lyrics to this as they sing, it’ll break your heart.
  • Wasted Daylight – Verses are mediocre for me, but amazing chorus. Once the song picks up, it never loses its momentum – it’s awesome. I don’t mind, I don’t mind, this wasted, shaded daylight…
  • The Last Song Ever Written – READ THE LYRICS [see below for an excerpt]. Makes me inexplicably sad. Quite the chill sounding song throughout, and I particularly like the part where the girl (Amy) sings her part so quietly it’s hard to make out what she says.
  • “This is the last song that was ever written
    Melody is over and done
    All of the words we sing erase each other
    You only need songs when you’re young.
    There was a strange goodbye outside the station
    There was a letter three weeks later in the mail
    We didn’t know we knew you till we lost you
    You tried to leave us all alone, we wish you had failed

    We’re gonna sing a song without words
    And a tune you haven’t heard in a long time
    Not since the year you were two
    And she sang to you in the wintertime
    And it goes la, la, la, la…”

    – from The Last Song Ever Written

    • sayitinasong
    • July 23rd, 2010

    Wow-great tracks- I am off to check out this band now! Thanks for posting!!

      • Cheryl Li
      • July 23rd, 2010

      Glad you liked them :)

  1. Hands down, Stars is one of my favorite bands of all time. Though it’s a bit different from their previous work, I love this album too.

      • Cheryl Li
      • August 27th, 2010

      Me too! I can’t really place what I love so much about this album, but it’s a great one for sure. It took a couple listens to fully grow on me, but I definitely love this one to bits now!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

