Switchfoot – Hello Hurricane

YAY MUSIC

I’ve had this for quite awhile, but never got around to writing about it. I’ve been a lifelong listener of Switchfoot, pretty much, with Dare You To Move being, hands down, my favourite and earliest Switchfoot song. I didn’t like the album before this, Oh! Gravity very much, since it was louder and, I guess, quirkier than music I tend to like. In any case, I thought Hello Hurricane was a lot more subdued in a good way. Like most times, there were still tracks I didn’t like, but there were a couple of AMAZING tracks. I’ve listened to the album so many times that all the songs have pretty much grown on me, but the amazing tracks still remain:

  • Always – AHHH!! I listen to this one all the time as a pick me up, since the lyrics are so simple yet satisfying [lyrics excerpt below]. I love the gentle melody that perfectly delivers those heartfelt lyrics. Definitely, by far, my favourite off this album. It’s next to Dare You To Move for me in terms of awesome. Aw ye.

“This is the star, this is your heart
This is the day you were born
This is the sun, these are your lungs
This is the day you were born.
And I am always, always, always yours
And I am always, always, always yours.”
– from Always

  • Enough To Let Me Go – begins with some really catchy guitar that I love, and the whole song manages to be soft and subdued yet catchy. Sounds really comforting :)

  • Your Love Is A Song – probably a little more epic sounding compared to the other two, haha. At the same time, it still carries the same soft sound as the rest of the album, with a gorgeous chorus. I especially love the lyrics in the chorus – your love is a symphony, all around me, running through me ~ Good stuff. :)
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

