OneRepublic – Waking Up

More music! :D

I actually am starting to really enjoy OneRepublic’s music, despite the overplayed Apologize (I admit, I still like that). I heard their most recent album Waking Up for the first time today, and I love it! Being only familiar with All The Right Moves prior to listening to this album, I wasn’t really sure what to expect but I was liking the album quite a lot. I love how they blend together strings and traditional sounding instruments with catchy hooks. There’s a few songs that I think STAND OUT for being so flipping good, though, like with most albums.

So here’s a short selection of my favourites:

  • All The Right Moves – well, this was kind of a no-brainer for me. I loved it from the first listen for its catchy but unique chorus and the subtle melodies in the background during the verses. Sounds pretty classic OneRepublic to me, and I love it.
  • Made For You – I can’t quite place what I love about this song so much, but I remember the first time I ran through the album, this one really stood out to me. It has a gorgeous piano line, imo. I love piano, hah.
  • Marchin On – begins with a pulsing beat, and I absolutely love the chorus with all its adlibbing. Catchy! :D
  • Secrets – ohh, I love the strings in this one. Leads into a stunning singalongble chorus (lol yeee making up words is fun). Especially love a section in the verses that is sung extremely fast (I’m bad at explaining, but you’ll notice it). Love!
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

