Lamingtons

I’ve never had a lamington before, but they sounded delish! They’re basically little cubes of sponge cake, covered in chocolate and rolled in dessicated coconut. After watching too much communitychannel, a.k.a. Natalie Tran, who is srsly bundles and bundles of awesome…and keeps breaking her promise to make lamingtons (angry face!), I decided I’d make some myself.

I HAD IT ALL PLANNED OUT. Or so I thought. The sponge cake recipe that I’d made before was amazing — soft, fluffy, delicious, pillowy and awesome. I bought some dessicated coconut on my hike to the grocery store. I had some amazing Ghiradelli cocoa powder that I LOVE, despite the fact that I don’t really like chocolate (blasphemy, my bad).

But for lamingtons, you’re not exactly supposed to use squishy, soft, perfect pieces of sponge cake; apparently this was a method to freshen up STALE cake. So the moment I dropped my first piece of of cake into the chocolate, the heavy chocolate TORE at the cake, leaving crumbs and often whole hunks of perfectly good cake in the once pristine chocolate sauce. While I was  thinking I’d be able to get maybe 16 lamingtons when I was finished, it turns out that I only ended up with 8 that were decent looking enough. CRY.

These were so soft and cushy that even when I set them on the cooling rack to set, the rack left deep indentations on the bottom of the lamingtons. Ah well, on the other hand, despite being ridiculously hard to coat, they were REALLY YUMMY. The cake is seriously good, whether by itself or made into lamingtons this way. The whole thing is very moist and chocolatey, especially since I cut my cake into very small cubes for lamingtons — these are about 1.5″ cubes or less. I love coconut, so nothing really to say there LOL. The only drawback, I’d say, in terms of taste, is that they were a little too sweet, probably because of the high coating to cake ratio I made mine into. I think if  they were bigger they’d lose their charm, though. Maybe I’ll just use less sugar and thin down the chocolate coating more next time. As well as find a sturdier cake to work with! No worries, I’d definitely make these again.

In any case, you HAVE to make this sponge cake. Or lamingtons. But not lamingtons using this sponge cake, LOL, unless you want to have a fun time fishing out cake remains from your chocolate. Just sayin’. I’d probably use Mowie’s recipe for the whole thing but halve it and bake them in two 8″ square tins instead.

I set them in small sized cupcake liners so that it’d be easier to handle, and I think they look a little neater that way too. Alright, onto the recipe! :)

This is ALL you need to make the sponge cake. The butter hasn’t been melted yet, though.

You might want to find a pound cake or sponge cake recipe that’s a little sturdier than this though, although this is DELISH with berries and cream :)

Lamingtons

Adapted from here (for the sponge cake) and here (for the coating)

Makes: 16 (in theory, if you’re VERY good at dipping without the cake falling apart on you, you’d get 16…I only got 8! You may want to double this recipe to make sure you get enough)

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 50g sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 40g cake flour, sifted (I don’t have cake flour, so I just measured all purpose flour, took out 1tbsp, and replaced it with 1tbsp cornstarch)
  • 30g melted butter
  • ~1/2 cup dessicated coconut
  • 130g icing sugar (I’d use 100g or less next time, since this was a little too sweet for me)
  • 40g cocoa powder
  • 17g melted butter
  • 35 mL hot water (I ended up using more than this, just adding until I thought it was liquidy enough. Use this much to start with, though)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line one 8″ square pan with parchment paper.
  2. Fill a saucepan 1/4 full with water and bring to a boil. Beat the eggs with the sugar on medium high speed over the water bath until sugar dissolves. Remove from heat and continue beating until thick, pale, and free of visible bubbles (ribbon stage). (I like using this method because the sugar melts and the eggs beat up fluffier when they’re warm)
  3. Beat in the vanilla. Incorporate the flour in three additions and fold carefully to not lose too much air.
  4. Fold in the melted butter until well mixed.
  5. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 16-20 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack. Cut off all the edges and crusts. Cut into 1.5″ cubes or whatever size you would like them to be.
  6. For the coating: whisk together icing sugar, cocoa powder and hot water together in a bowl. Fold in the melted butter.
  7. Dip all sides of the sponge cubes into the chocolate mixture and then toss the cubes through dessicated coconut to cover. Allow to harden on a wire rack, then refrigerate to fully solidify.

    • stephentrinder
    • August 12th, 2010

    Hiya thought you might like a photo of a genuine New Zealand Lamington, the stuff of special morning teas: http://www.flickr.com/photos/stephentrinder/4524894810/

      • Cheryl Li
      • August 12th, 2010

      Oh, cool! I had no idea if they were supposed to be filled, but mine were so small that I thought they were decadent enough without :)

  1. looks really good..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

