Gingerbread Cake

I’m not exactly one of those people who long for fall or winter while it’s summertime. In fact, I’m anything but that. I LOVE summer and all its sunshine, picnics and barbecues, vacations and sightseeing and get-togethers. Heck, I even love the heat.

So I have NO idea why I decided to make this. Originally, I was planning on doing something with yeast, since I haven’t made anything with yeast in quite a long time and I miss kneading and rising and all that fun stuff. But then i decided last minute that I wanted to make something quick. I could have picked from a hundred different summery recipes, so I honestly don’t know what got me to make this.

But I’m glad I did! They’re very moist and fragrant, especially since I substituted some of the butter with oil to make it more moist and a liiiiittle bit healthier. Yeah. Sort of. I was pretty generous with the spices, since I absolutely love cinnamon, and I added in quite a bit of vanilla just cause. Don’t be afraid to add extra spices! And the TEXTURE…it’s crumbly, soft and fluffy, and as I said before, very moist. Also, moist is an ugly word and should be permanently replaced by another word…such an icky word to describe something nice :(

But I digress. LOL.

Anyways, the first time I made this was last Christmas (cue impromptu singing and dancing – I know you break out into song too), and it turned out perfect for the season. I made it in two 8″ square pans, so that it would take up less space when I brought it up to the ski resort, where we go yearly during Christmastime. If you do bake it in two 8″ square pans, just check on it a few minutes earlier and it’ll be fine. This time, I made it in one 9″x13″ glass pan, so I turned down the temperature by 25 degrees (to accommodate for the fact that the pan was made of glass) and baked it for about 40 minutes.

Om nom nom, so good. I cut them into small squares so that I didn’t have to feel guilty shoving one after another into my face. That is, until after three or four…or more…

By the way – random but true – in the shots that have a glass of “milk” in them, I didn’t actually use milk. I used whipping cream instead, and just poured it back into  the carton when I was done. I, uh, RAN OUT of milk. Yup, only in my family do we ever run out of milk. It happens quite a lot, actually! But when we do buy milk, we’ll buy extra and freeze that, then defrost it on the counter when we need a new bag. Yeah. So at any given time there’s probably a bag of frozen solid milk on the counter that could break a window and kill someone…yeah. JEN + CAROL, stop giving me those weird looks LOL.

Gingerbread Cake

Adapted  from Epicurious

Makes: 24 squares

Ingredients:

  • 2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I upped this to 2 teaspoons)
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger (I upped this to 2 teaspoons)
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg (optional; I like this combination of spices)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup shortening (I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup oil instead)
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I upped this to scant 3/4 cup sugar)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup molasses mixed with 1 cup hot water

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Sift together flour, baking soda, spices and salt.
  3. Beat together shortening, sugar, and egg in a large bowl with an electric mixer on medium speed until creamy, about 2 minutes. In 3 batches, alternately beat in flour mixture and molasses mixture at low speed until smooth. Pour batter into a greased 9×13 inch pan or two 8×8 inch pans. Smooth top.
  4. Bake cake in middle of oven until a tester comes out clean (30 minutes for 8×8 pans and 40 minutes for a 9×13 pan). Cool cake in pan on a rack. Slice into squares. Cake keeps covered, in pan at room temperature for 2 days.

Sifting together the dry ingredients.

Rest of the ingredients, other than molasses/hot water and vanilla. I’m not very organized, haha.

Mmm, perfect with milk! Now if only I had some, haha.

  1. I love gingerbread any time of the year! Yours looks sooo good. I actually leave the sugar out and add a little extra light molasses, plus a scoop of pummpkin to the batter.

      • Cheryl Li
      • August 14th, 2010

      Thanks! This one’s actually not very sweet even with 1/2 a cup of sugar, which is why I increased it by a bit. Pumpkin in this sounds great! I might try that the next time I make it, thanks :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

