Almond Pear Cream Cheese Torte

Let me just say this now – I really, really don’t like cheesecake. Not quite hate, but pretty darn close. I don’t know why I don’t, it’s just never appealed to me despite the  fact that it looks pretty. But despite the fact that this tastes somewhat like a cheesecake, this torte is DELISH, and that’s saying a lot. Shortbread crust, tangy but sweet filling, caramelized pears and crunchy almonds…nom nom, yes please!

I was flipping through a Kraft What’s Cooking magazine, salivating at their ridiculously mouthwatering photos (tell me I’m not the only one) when this caught my eye. First of all, I thought it looked really pretty. I LOVE it when things turn out exactly like the photo, which never happens when you’re as accident-prone as I am. Second, quickly skimming through the instructions left me thinking that, hey, this seems easy enough even for me to do! And it was, seriously. Despite the three different components, every part is super simple but the end product looks impressive. It tastes like you spent forever on it, even though the majority of the time was spent waiting for the darn thing to chill before I could nosh on it. Really, you can put it together in one hour or less, and the rest is just putting it into the oven and chilling.

I used pears, but you can use apples here too and it’d be just as yummy, I presume. The almonds don’t stand out here, but they do add a nice texture. Eh, I love almonds so I’d eat them by the handful regardless. ANYWAYS. The only somewhat difficult part is probably pressing the crust into the pan — that took awhile, but that was my fault because I kept on trying to make perfect edges, then realizing that the filling wouldn’t even go that high, and smooshing it back down. Really, if I’d just follow instructions…OH ME.

Almond Pear Cream Cheese Torte

Adapted from Kraft

Makes: 12 servings (1 9″ torte)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 cup sugar, divided
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 pkg. (250g) brick cream cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 4 cups sliced peeled pears (about 4 medium pears – I only used 3)
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F. Beat butter and 1/3 cup of the sugar in small bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add flour; mix well. Spread firmly onto bottom and 1 in. up side of 9-in. springform pan.
  2. Beat cream cheese and 1/3 cup of the remaining sugar in same bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until well blended. Add egg and vanilla; mix well. Spread evenly over crust. Combine remaining 1/3 cup sugar and the cinnamon. Add to pears in large bowl; toss to coat. Arrange over cream cheese layer; sprinkle with almonds.
  3. Bake 10 min. Reduce temperature to 375°F; continue baking 25 min. or until centre is set. Cool on wire rack. Loosen torte from rim of pan. Cover and refrigerate 3 hours before serving. Store leftover torte in refrigerator.

  1. I have a house full of cheesecake lovers. this looks absolutely delicious!

      • Cheryl Li
      • August 27th, 2010

      Thanks! It really was, you should try it!

  2. my facvorite torte for sure

  3. I really like that connection of flavours!

  4. This was a delightful dessert. I passed on the recipe.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

